First| Previous| Up| Next| Last
Gong - The World Of Daevid Allen And Gong (2003)
Cover Front Album
Artist Gong
Length 227:48
Format CD
Genre Rock
Label Charly
Index 8
Collection Status In Collection
Packaging Box Set
Track List
The World Of Daevid Allen And Gong (Disc 1) 78:13
01 Rational Anthem 04:09
02 Glad To Say To Say 03:44
03 Gong Song 04:09
04 Foghat Digs Holes In Space 06:21
05 Tried So Hard 04:39
06 Tropical Fish: Selene 07:36
07 Radio Gnome Invisible 05:32
08 Flying Teapot 11:46
09 The Pot Head Pixies 02:59
10 The Octave Doctor And The Crystal Machine 01:45
11 Zero The Hero And The Witch's Spell 09:37
12 Witch's Song: I Am Your Pussy 05:06
13 Other Side Of The Sky 07:39
14 Sold To The Highest Buddah 03:11
The World Of Daevid Allen And Gong (Disc 2) 78:24
01 The Castle In The Clouds 01:13
02 Prostitute Poem 06:06
03 Givin' My Love To You 00:43
04 Selene 03:33
05 Flute Salad 02:45
06 Oily Way 03:00
07 Outer Temple 01:08
08 Inner Temple 03:19
09 Love Is How You Make It 03:26
10 I Niver Glid Before 05:35
11 Eat That Phone Book Coda 03:07
12 Thoughts For Naught 01:33
13 A P.H.P.'s Advice 01:47
14 Magic Mother Invocation 02:05
15 Master Builer 06:07
16 A Sprinkling Of Clouds 08:55
17 Perfect Mystery 02:26
18 The Isle Of Everywhere 10:20
19 You Never Blow Your Trip Forever 11:16
The World Of Daevid Allen And Gong (Disc 3) 71:11
01 Gong With Soft Machine - Save Yourself 02:41
02 Gong With Soft Machine - You Don't Remember 03:42
03 Time Of Your Life 03:24
04 Memories 03:36
05 Stoned Innocent Frankenstein 03:22
06 Fred The Fish 02:29
07 White Neck Blooze 05:45
08 Tally & Orlando Meet The Cockpit Pixie 03:16
09 Why Do We Treat Ourselves Like We Do? 06:50
10 Poet For Sale 03:26
11 Planet Gong - Floatin' Anarchy 05:11
12 Planet Gong - New Age Transformation Try: No More Sages... 12:05
13 Planet Gong - Opium For The People 04:24
14 It's A Fine Air For Fliss 03:37
15 333 04:09
16 Rajneesh With Thanks 00:30
17 New York Gong - Much Too Old 02:44
Personal Details
Purchase Date 17/02/2004
Store Ben
Rating 0
Owner Bean
Spars DDD
Rare No
Sound Stereo
The History of Gong by Jim Powers -
Gong slowly came together in the late '60s when Australian guitarist Daevid Allen (ex-Soft Machine) began making music with his wife, singer Gilli Smyth, along with a shifting lineup of supporting musicians. Albums from this period include Magick Brother, Mystic Sister (1969) and the impromptu jam session Bananamoon (1971) featuring Robert Wyatt from the Soft Machine, Gary Wright from Spooky Tooth, and Maggie Bell. A steady lineup featuring Frenchman Didier Malherbe (sax and reeds), Christian Tritsch (bass), and Pip Pyle (drums) along with Allen (glissando guitar, vocals) and Gilli Smyth (space whisper vocals) was officially named Gong and released Camembert Electrique in late 1971, as well as providing the soundtrack to the film Continental Circus and music for the album Obsolete by French poet Dashiel Hedayat.
Camembert Electrique contained the first signs of the band's mythology of the peaceful Planet Gong populated by Radio Gnomes, Pothead Pixies, and Octave Doctors. These characters along with Zero the Hero are the focus of Gong's next three albums, the Radio Gnome Invisible Trilogy, consisting of Flying Teapot (1973), Angel's Egg (1974), and You (1975). On these albums, protagonist Zero the Hero is a space traveler from Earth who gets lost and finds the Planet Gong, is taught the ways of that world by the gnomes, pixies, and Octave Doctors and is sent back to Earth to spread the word about this mystical planet. The band themselves adopted nicknames - Allen was Bert Camembert or the Dingo Virgin, Smyth was Shakti Yoni, Malherbe was Bloomdido Bad de Grasse, Tritsch was the Submarine Captain and Pyle the Heap. Over the course of the trilogy, Tritsch and Pyle left and were replaced by Mike Howlett (bass) and Pierre Moerlen (drums). New members Steve Hillage (guitar) and Tim Blake (synthesizers) joined.

After You, Allen, Hillage, and Smyth left the group due to creative differences as well as fatigue. Guitarist Allen Holdsworth joined and the band drifted into virtuosic if unimaginative jazz fusion. Hillage and Allen each released several solo albums and Smyth formed Mothergong. Nevertheless the trilogy lineup has reunited for a few one-off concerts including a 1977 French concert documented on the excellent Gong est Mort, Vive Gong album. Allen also reunited with Malherbe and Pyle as well as other musicians he had collaborated with over the years for 1992's Shapeshifter album. Hillage also worked as the ambient-techno alias System 7. A number of Gong-related bands have existed over the years, including Mothergong, Gongzilla, Pierre Moerlin's Gong, NY Gong, Planet Gong, and Gongmaison. During the new millennium Gong material continued to be released, including Live to Infinitea issued in fall 2000.